// you’re reading...

Solo Sounds

Choosing Choice Music Prize

The Choice Music Prize will be live at Vicar St on March 4, 2009, and the Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2008 has now been announced.
The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):

– Fight Like Apes, ‘Fight Like Apes and the Mystery of the Golden Medallion’ (Model Citizen)
– Mick Flannery, ‘White Lies’ (EMI)
– Halfset ‘Another Way of Being There’ (Casino Gravity Records)
– Lisa Hannigan, ‘Sea Sew’ (Own label)
– David Holmes, ‘The Holy Pictures’ (Canderblinks)
– Jape, ‘Ritual’ (Co-Op)
– Messiah J & The Expert, ‘From The Word Go’ (Inaudible)
– Oppenheimer, ‘Take The Whole Mid-Range And Boost It’ (Fantastic Plastic)
– R.S.A.G., ‘Organic Sampler’ (Psychonavigation)
– The Script, ‘The Script’ (Sony Music)

The shortlist has been selected by a panel of 12 Irish music media professionals representing print, radio, online and TV, and the full list of judges can be found on the Choice Music Prize website, www.choicemusicprize.com.
The overall Album of the Year will be selected by this judging panel at the Choice Music Prize event at Vicar Street, Dublin on Wednesday March 4. The winning act will receive €10,000 euros, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). The act will also receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists And Performers Ltd (RAAP).
The Choice Music Prize live event will be broadcast live on Today FM on March 4. Full information on the acts who will be performing at the live event will be announced later this month. Tickets are €27 on sale now through Ticketmaster, www.ticketmaster.ie, booking line: 0818 719 390 and other usual outlets nationwide.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.